bakerdays Review & Giveaway

When I was contacted by the bakerdays team to review one of their letterbox cakes how could I say no? Cake is what I do; it is what I live for (ok a bit dramatic but I think you are all getting to understand my baking obsession).

bakerdays

A little introduction directly from them:

*bakerdays is a Personalised Celebration Cake Specialist, providing quality personalised cakes for all occasions. The delicious range of recipes and sizes are available for delivery 6 days a week, and if you order before 2pm, bakerdays can deliver the very next day!

View post on imgur.com

In essence they can provide a cake for 3 people up to 55 people. The smallest size (5 inch) is the one that fit through your letterbox. This is very true! It fitted through ours with no problem.   Each cake can be delivered the next day if you are in a rush (forgot until it was too late to do anything about it). All delivery details are listed on their website. The volume of choice is extensive. There are Princess cakes, Pirate cakes, Anniversary cakes and Apology cakes. There are even emoji cakes! Anyone who follows me on social media will know I am a huge fan of an emoji! (Who isn’t right?) Plus so many more! Most of them are personalisable (spell checker says that isn’t a word… I’m using it anyway), and some even allow you to upload one of your photos onto it.

Our Cake

We chose a Christmas design (I consulted Hubby but then ignored his suggestions) because I am feeling very festive and no matter how hard I try to write about other things I seem to be filling the blog with festivities! Once I had chosen the design and added our name, I checked the preview and ordered the cake. It is a very simple process.

Ours arrived at the most fortuitous moment! After a 5am wake up call (thanks Pinky!) all I wanted was cake, but since I needed match sticks to keep my eyes open the last thing I wanted to do was make any. Cue cake hitting the mat making me one super happy Mama.

Our cake is vanilla but there are also the options of chocolate, gluten, wheat and dairy free. They even do cupcakes! This might be my new favourite thing!

fullsizeoutput_1ef5

It arrived in a well-sealed, sturdy cardboard box, which despite having been dropped through our letterbox onto a very hard floor doesn’t have a dent in it! Inside the box is a tin and a little cracker for Christmas. Inside the tin is our cake… TaDah!

dscn3221dscn3224

Isn’t it pretty?! Please pay note to their instructions…. No need me to devour the cake with great gusto, I usually inhale the stuff 😉

fullsizeoutput_1ef7fullsizeoutput_1ef6dscn3230

Taste

Well it tasted delicious! It wasn’t too sweet which meant I probably would have eaten it all to myself but it was more than enough for the four of us.  And it didn’t last long at all!

img_5950img_5951img_5953img_5955img_5958

Find them

You can find bakerdays on Twitter and Facebook. Their website is extremely easy to use and navigate.  The hardest part is choosing which design you would like.  With so many possibilities to choose from it is very hard to decide.

Giveaway

bakerdays are giving away one letterbox cake to a lucky winner.  The cake will be provided directly from bakerdays.  You can choose your own design.  Competition is open from 7am 12/12/16 to 11.59pm 29/12/16.  The winner will be picked at random notified on 30/12/16. Click below to enter.

Winnettes bakerdays giveaway

* Disclaimer: I was provided with a cake for free in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

The Diary of an 'Ordinary' Mum
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
3 Little Buttons
Mummuddlingthrough
Follow:

35 Comments

  1. December 12, 2016 / 2:27 pm

    Who doesn’t need a mail order cake service in their lives? I’m very impressed at the next day delivery thing. Do you think they could deliver some for me in the next 5 minutes if I ask really nicely? 😉 x #bigpinklink

    • December 13, 2016 / 8:45 pm

      Haha! Perhaps if you asked really nicely 😉 I have been so impressed with them and the quality of the cake X

  2. December 12, 2016 / 9:31 pm

    Oh I love Baker Days! The cake is so yummy, love that it came in a christmas theme 🙂 #bigpinklink

    • December 13, 2016 / 8:42 pm

      I couldn’t resist, I thought it was so pretty. Thank you for reading. x

  3. December 12, 2016 / 10:35 pm

    I think they are so clever fitting through the letter box. I sent one to my brother as a little birthday surprise 🙂 #KCACOLS

    • December 13, 2016 / 8:41 pm

      It is such a good idea isn’t it. I was so impressed with them and their designs. Thank you for reading x

  4. December 12, 2016 / 11:47 pm

    What a brilliant service! Who has time to faff on with ordering and then later collecting cakes when you have two littles in tow. It’s great to see that they fit through your letterbox without any damage – how amazing is that?! I love the clean plate at the end haha!

    You’ve just inspired me to organise a cake baby gift of cake for my friend who’s due to pop with her second any day now. Which new mum would say no to cake? She’s gluten intolerant too so I know she’ll Actually be able to eat it rather than her husband!

    • December 13, 2016 / 8:40 pm

      Oh well then bakerdays will be perfect! They have loads of amazing new baby designs too. A much better gift than another pack of muslins or teething toys 😉 X

  5. serenityyou
    December 13, 2016 / 9:17 am

    I have seen quite a few blog reviews on these cakes and I really want to get one. Love the design on this one #DreamTeam

    • December 13, 2016 / 8:38 pm

      It’s very pretty isn’t it! I recommend them highly!

  6. December 14, 2016 / 9:18 am

    We reviewed Baker Days last year too – such a neat idea isn’t it? Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday x

    • December 14, 2016 / 7:45 pm

      It really is brilliant! x

  7. Sarah (Mum x3x)
    December 15, 2016 / 10:51 am

    Bakerdays cakes are amazing and delicious. I love the look of the one you’ve picked! #KCACOLS

    • December 15, 2016 / 12:55 pm

      They’re great aren’t they? I couldn’t resist this design! X

  8. December 15, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    What is better than cake delivered to you direct? They are super scrummy! I got my review next week but I ate it before Ben got a look in hahahaha!
    Your little lady looks like she is enjoying herself! #coolmumclub

    • December 15, 2016 / 4:45 pm

      Hahaha!! It took a lot of will power for me to share 😂

  9. Mainy - myrealfairy
    December 15, 2016 / 7:44 pm

    I love these cakes, they are amazing to look at and taste yummy!

    Mainy

    #KCACOLS

    • December 15, 2016 / 8:10 pm

      Yes they are really good! Thank you for reading X

  10. December 16, 2016 / 4:49 pm

    I love Bakerdays cakes, and cake by post, what’s not to love! I love the design you choose. #KCACOLS x

    • December 17, 2016 / 1:32 pm

      Thank you, it was very pretty!

  11. madelinelittlejohns
    December 16, 2016 / 6:59 pm

    Such a pretty cake! I love this idea of getting cake through the post too, it would be such a nice present to send to someone. x #KCACOLS

    • December 17, 2016 / 1:32 pm

      Yeah, they have so many designs I have a few friends that will be getting them for their birthdays next year X

  12. December 16, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    I just love the idea of getting cake through the post, amazing what you can do now X #kcacols

    • December 17, 2016 / 1:30 pm

      It is nicer than the usual bills and junk mail that is for sure!

  13. December 17, 2016 / 9:52 am

    I love those cakes! Yours look divine and you enjoyed it for sure. Good luck to all participants! Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday.

  14. December 18, 2016 / 4:37 pm

    Gorgeous photos of your little one giving it the taste test. Now… I do not need convincing. This cake is the BEST! It tastes and smells so good and what’s not to love about cake that falls from your letterbox. Thank you for sharing with the #DreamTeam xx

  15. December 18, 2016 / 11:02 pm

    We love Bakerdays, we tried one earlier in the year and it was delicious! I am particularly keen on the design on yours though, festive but pretty too- love that it came with a cracker too. Thank you for sharing with #bigpinklink x

    • December 21, 2016 / 2:35 pm

      It was very pretty, shame it didn’t last long to really appreciate the design 😉

  16. December 19, 2016 / 11:12 am

    Nom nom what a lovely Christmas treat! Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub lovely and wishing you a fantastic Xmas! xx

    • December 21, 2016 / 2:34 pm

      Merry Christmas to you too X

  17. December 28, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    This wouldn’t have lasted long in our house either – looks fab! #bigpinklink

  18. kim wallace
    December 28, 2016 / 8:06 pm

    Love cake love to win

  19. Jacqui Rankine
    December 29, 2016 / 1:28 am

    This looks so delicious! Oh my mouth watered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *